Bureau of Field Services

The Bureau of Field Services has primary responsibility for the implementation of Community Policing and the delivery of effective and efficient police services to the community, as well as primary responsibility for the delivery of general, tactical police services and joint Bureau operations, unless otherwise directed by the Police Commissioner.

Special Operations Division

Special Operations is responsible for specialized patrol, tactical, and selective enforcement operations. 




Tactical Operations
Responsible for providing specialized patrol, tactical, and selective enforcement operations in situations requiring a high degree of specialized training and/or equipment. Tactical Operations includes Mobile Operations Patrol, the SWAT Team, and the Negotiation Team.
Environmental Safety Group
The Commander of the Environmental Safety Group represents the Commissioner and Superintendent, BFS, on the City of Boston Environmental Strike Team and, as requested, at various judicial and regulatory hearings and procedures. The Group consists of the Harbor Patrol Unit, the Hazardous Materials Response Unit, the Explosive Ordnance Unit, the Canine Unit, and the Commercial Vehicle Unit.

Special Events Management

Prepares all operational and contingency special events plans in line with the Department’s All-Hazards Approach to Homeland Security. Special Events Management includes the Special Events Planning Unit and the Homeland Security Planning Unit.  It also serves as liaison to the Mayor’s Office of Emergency Preparedness.

Patrol Divisions

Responsible for the implementation of Community Policing and the provision of all police services to residents and visitors to the city. For administrative purposes, Districts are grouped into the following Areas, which, at the discretion of the Police Commissioner, may be placed under the command of an Area Commander:

Area A is comprised of District A-1 and District A-7. Area B is comprised of District B-2 and District B-3. Area C is comprised of District C-6 and District C-11. Area D is comprised of District D-4 and District D-14. Area E is comprised of District E-5, District E-13 and District E-18.  District Commanders provide complete administrative and field supervision in the Districts under their control and are responsible for meeting the needs of citizens and for ensuring all functions and operations are performed in accordance with Department Rules and Procedures.

Overseeing the Area and District Commands are the Zone Commanders who report directly to the Chief, BFS.  The city is divided into 3 Zones.  Zone 1 encompasses Areas A and D; Zone 2 comprises Areas B and C; and Zone 3 comprises Area E.

Field Support Division

Assists the Bureau Chief in supporting the Bureau’s primary mission, assists in coordinating and managing resources for the implementation of Community Policing, and monitors and governs the expenditure of grant money and overtime funds allocated to the Bureau.  The Division includes the Youth Violence Strike Force, the School Police Unit, and the Support Services Group.

Youth Violence Strike Force
The Strike Force’s goal is to reduce the criminal activity and anti-social behavior of youthful offenders and youth gangs through directed and community-based policing strategies.