Boston Police Department Detective Rating Ceremony

det_badge.gifBoston Mayor Thomas M Menino and Police Commissioner Kathleen M. O’Toole will officiate over a Detective rating ceremony set for today, Friday, March 10, 2006, at the Robsham Theater Arts Center in Boston College at 2:00p.m.

Twenty members currently at the rank of Police Officer will be rated Detective. Prior to this appointment, most of their work has been conducted in the uniform branch of the department in the district stations; several were assigned to the Drug Control Unit and several others to the Youth Violence Strike Force. This is their first opportunity to expand their role and duties. These ratings will enhance the department’s criminal investigations to continue to provide the best possible delivery of police services to the citizens of Boston. All of the detectives are being assigned to Districts 2, 3 and 11 (Roxbury, Mattapan and Dorchester), except for one who is highly trained in the Ballistics area. The five Lieutenants and six Sergeants ranked today had previously been re-assigned to investigative assignments within the department. They have served in these investigative assignments for the last six months and are being rated Lieutenant Detective and Sergeant Detective respectively. Three of the Lieutenant Detectives are currently assigned to the busiest districts in the City, which include District 2, 3 and 11. Their responsibilities will include overseeing all investigations within their districts and also supervising 19 of the detectives being promoted today. The following candidates will be rated Detective: Rated Lieutenant Detective: Eric V. Eversley Robert P. Harrington Daniel P. Linskey Robert M. Merner John R. O’Malley Rated Sergeant Detective: Michael J. Casinelli Gayle B. Craven James T. Cullity Joseph W. Dahlbeck Brian J. McEachern Earl O. Perkins Rated Detective: Stephen E. Beath Charles D. Coleman Stephen T. Duran Stephen P. Fahey Thomas J. Foley Frederick P. Fontaine John N. Foundas Kenneth J. Gaines Karen Allen-Bowie Richard G. Lewis Scott A. MacCallum Brian Miller Richard Moy Kevin Pumphret James Thompson Deanne M. Vitale Greg T. Walsh Carlton A. Williamson Roque D. Heath Pamela Besold