Eight Members of the Boston Police Department Receive Hanna Awards

photo courtesy of the boston herald

On Monday, December 2, 2013, Law Enforcement Officials gathered for the 30th Annual George L. Hanna Memorial Awards. These Awards recognized officers throughout Massachusetts for their outstanding acts of bravery and courage.

Among the honorees: Boston Police Sergeant. Edward Norton, Officer Elizabeth Philbin, Officer Mark Bordley, Officer Earl Jacob, Sergeant. Thomas Brooks, Officer Pele James, Officer Joel Resil, and Officer Mathew Pieroway

This year’s Medal of Valor and Meritorious Recognition was awarded to Sergeant Edward Norton, who selflessly dove into the Fort Point Channel to rescue a woman who had fallen into the water.  

The Hanna Awards are the State’s highest recognition for bravery and are given in honor of George L. Hanna, a Massachusetts State Police Trooper who was killed in the line of duty on February 26, 1983

A special thank you to all of the men and women of law enforcement who bravely risk their lives every day to protect and serve the citizens of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts!  Congratulations to All!