Several BPD Officers Honored at Today’s Trooper George L. Hanna Memorial Awards for Bravery

During today’s Trooper George Hanna Awards Ceremony, which were held today (November 19, 2014) at the State House, the following Boston Police Officers were honored and recognized for their displays of courage and bravery as it relates, not to actions taken in the days after the Boston Marathon, but rather actions taken during an incident in which an armed felon was taken into custody on January 24, 2013. 

We commend and congratulate the officers honored today: 

  • Sergeant Bret H. LaBelle
  • Detective Amy M. Erlandson-LaPointe                       
  • Police Officer Skye A. Robinson                                 
  • Police Officer Matthew M. Conley                                            
  • Police Officer Wilfredo Coriano                                 
  • Police Officer Sean Daniely                                         
  • Police Officer Steven D. Roe                               

About 10:33am, on Thursday, January 24, 2013, Officers Robinson & Erlandson-LaPointe were on patrol in the area of Seaver Street when they observed a motor vehicle violating several motor vehicle laws. After stopping the car, which happened to be a rental car, officers discovered that the operator of the vehicle was not authorized to be behind the wheel of the vehicle. When back up officers arrived, the suspect was asked to exit the car. However, instead of exiting the vehicle, the suspect remained inside the car all the while accusing the officers of violating his rights. When officers attempted to take the suspect into custody, a violent struggle ensued. During the struggle, officers observed the suspect grabbing at his waist area in such a way as if to suggest he was in possession of a weapon. As the suspect continued to resist and fight, officers observed and quickly confiscated a loaded firearm lodged in the suspect’s waist area. As a result of their courageous actions and split second decision making, lives were saved and the officers involved in this incident were today honored with a Trooper George L. Hanna Memorial Award for Bravery.